Carteret

Status
  1. 01Certified 247,232.98 on hand after receiving 98,879.22148,353.76
  2. 02FY2025 encumbrance of 1,815.00 names no program1,815.00
RecordsNot yet requested
Ledger coveragenone
Reports filedFY2023 · FY2024 · FY2025 · FY2026
GradeNot yet requestedNot yet requested
Not yet requested
In one page

What the reports say,
and what the books show.

Carteret has received $171,104.15 in opioid settlement funds. No ledger has been produced.

Certified0.00
Certified+ 0.00
Certified to the State0.00
Both totals are summed from the published rows, in whole cents.
The account

The money, four ways.

Four figures describe the same settlement money. Each one comes from a different document.

1 · Received$171,104.15Cumulative receipts as certified to the Department of Human Services.DHS annual reports
2 · AuthorizedNo figure publishedBudget insertions and appropriations recorded against the account.Governing body resolutions
3 · Certified expended$8,587.50What the jurisdiction told the State it spent, by program.DHS annual reports
4 · Spent, per the booksNo figure publishedClassified against the Exhibit E gates.The opioid account
No ledger has been produced, so no report is measured against the books.Red marks a certified against books conflict.
Reconciliation

Certified against the books,
every report year.

Every year this jurisdiction has filed, and the year it has not. The match on each row is computed from the rows, not judged.

FY202307/2022 to 06/2023
filed
MatchNot statedThe FY2023 report answers the expenditure and administrative questions with NA and certifies 57,440.33 received as of 06/30/2023. The Borough has produced no ledger, so no payment from settlement funds can be matched to this certification.
CertifiedNot statedOpioid Prevention and Education
The books—not produced
Difference—not measured
The filed report
NJ DHS Opioid Settlement Funding Report · FY2023 · NJ27
Program name
Opioid Prevention and Education
Recipient
Borough of Carteret
Amount expended
Not stated
Received to date
$57,440.33
Fig. 1 · NJ DHS Opioid Settlement Funding Report · highlight added · open document
FY202407/2023 to 06/2024
filed
MatchNo ledger produced
Certified8,587.50LEAD – Too Good For Drugs · Substance Abuse and Defeating Distractions
The books—not produced
Difference—not measured
The filed report
NJ DHS Opioid Settlement Funding Report · FY2024 · NJ27
Program name
LEAD – Too Good For Drugs
Recipient
Borough of Carteret
Recipient category
County or Municipality (including Departments and Municipal Alliances)
Programs listed
2
Amount expended
$8,587.50
Unspent on hand
$85,291.72
Received to date
$98,879.22
Fig. 2 · NJ DHS Opioid Settlement Funding Report · highlight added · open document
FY202507/2024 to 06/2025
filed
MatchNo ledger producedThe FY2025 report certifies 0.00 received, 0.00 expended and 1,815.00 encumbered, and answers No to funding any new program. The Borough has produced no ledger, so no payment from settlement funds can be matched to this certification.
Certified0.00expended
The books—not produced
Difference—not measured
The filed report
NJ DHS Opioid Settlement Funding Report · FY2025 · NJ27
Programs listed
none
Amount expended
$0.00
Unspent on hand
$247,232.98
Received to date
$98,879.22
Fig. 3 · NJ DHS Opioid Settlement Funding Report · highlight added · open document
FY202607/2025 to 06/2026
filed
MatchNo ledger producedThe FY2026 report certifies 72,224.93 received, 0.00 expended, 0.00 encumbered and 0.00 administrative for 07/01/2025 to 06/30/2026, and answers No to funding any program. The Borough has produced no ledger, so no payment from settlement funds can be matched to this certification.
Certified0.00expended
The books—not produced
Difference—not measured
The filed report
NJ DHS Opioid Settlement Funding Report · FY2026 · NJ27
Programs listed
none
Amount expended
$0.00
Unspent on hand
$285,893.75
Received to date
$171,104.15
Fig. 4 · NJ DHS Opioid Settlement Funding Report · highlight added · open document
Findings

2 findings.

Every finding is verified to the documents in its own row. An inference is labelled as one.

Red with the marker: a certified figure the books contradict.

01

The FY2025 report certifies 247,232.98 in unspent and uncommitted opioid funds on hand.

The same report certifies 98,879.22 received since the distribution commenced in 2022, including interest. The balance on hand is 148,353.76 more than everything the Borough says it ever received. The FY2024 report certifies 98,879.22 received, 8,587.50 expended and 5,000.00 encumbered, and its unspent figure of 85,291.72 is exactly 98,879.22 less those two amounts. The FY2025 report then certifies 0.00 received in the period, 0.00 of interest, 0.00 expended and 1,815.00 encumbered. On those figures the balance on hand could only have stayed level or fallen. It rose by 161,941.26. One of the certified figures is false. The report does not say which, and the Borough has produced no ledger.

unspent-misstated · 2 documents · 09/23/2026
Verified148,353.76per the books
02

The FY2025 report certifies 1,815.00 appropriated or encumbered and not yet spent between 07/01/2024 and 06/30/2025.

It answers No to funding any new program and carries no update on either program listed the year before, so no program or recipient is named for the 1,815.00. The FY2024 report had listed Substance Abuse and Defeating Distractions, funded 05/02/2024 at 5,515.00 with 515.00 expended and 5,000.00 encumbered. The FY2025 report does not say what became of that 5,000.00. The same report certifies 0.00 received in the period while its cumulative receipts stay at 98,879.22. No ledger has been produced, so neither the encumbrance nor the zero receipts can be tested against the books.

encumbrance-unsupported · 2 documents · 09/23/2026
Inference1,815.00per the books
How the money was spent

The ledger, as printed.

The opioid account as printed from the jurisdiction's own accounting system. Classification follows the Exhibit E gates.

Ledger

No ledger line is published for this jurisdiction yet.

Vendors

Vendors, and what paid them before.

What fund carried each payee before the opioid account, and how large the opioid slice is against the whole relationship. Bars share one scale.

Vendors

No payee is published for this jurisdiction yet.

Documents · 4
dhs reportNJ DHS 2023 Opioid Abatement Report, FY2023, Carteret Borough, State ID NJ27Open
dhs reportNJ DHS Opioid Settlement Funding Report, FY2024, Carteret Borough, State ID NJ27Open
dhs reportNJ DHS Opioid Settlement Funding Report, FY2025, Carteret Borough, State ID NJ27Open
dhs reportNJ DHS Opioid Settlement Funding Report, FY2026, Carteret Borough, State ID NJ27Open

All documents are public records produced by the jurisdiction. Titles are the documents' own.

Records and timeline
Timeline

No dated event is published for this jurisdiction yet.

Correction from Carteret

No correction received from this jurisdiction. If a figure on this page is wrong, send the record that shows it. The response is published here word for word.

Correct the record
Frequently asked questions

Can opioid settlement money be spent on police cars or license plate readers?

No. Exhibit E of the national settlement lists the approved uses: treatment, recovery, prevention, harm reduction and related supports. Vehicles and surveillance hardware are not among the uses it lists, and state law bars using the funds to replace money a town would otherwise have spent.The approved uses

What did Carteret tell the State it spent the money on?

It certified 3 programs to the Department of Human Services. Each program, its recipient and its amount are reproduced above, beside the payments in the account.See the reports

How was this grade computed?

By code, from a published rubric: reporting integrity 50 percent, spending conformity 40 percent, transparency 10 percent, with hard caps for a certified program that has no payee in the books, for an uncertified transfer out, and for a records refusal.The rubric