Denville Township
- 01Reported 31,778.06 received. Its books show 103,645.1071,867.04
- 02FY2024 report says 0.00 received. Books show 68,414.2568,414.25
- 03FY2024 report says all funds sent. 13,110.66 was still held13,110.66
- 04FY2025 report says 0.00 received. Books show 3,452.793,452.79
What the reports say,
and what the books show.
Denville Township has received $31,778.06 in opioid settlement funds and spent $103,645.10 of it.
The money, four ways.
Four figures describe the same settlement money. Each one comes from a different document.
Certified against the books,
every report year.
Every year this jurisdiction has filed, and the year it has not. The match on each row is computed from the rows, not judged.
filed
- Programs listed
- none
- Amount expended
- $0.00
- Received to date
- $31,778.06
filed
- Programs listed
- none
- Amount expended
- Not stated
- Received to date
- $31,778.06
filed
- Programs listed
- none
- Amount expended
- Not stated
- Received to date
- $31,778.06
filed
- Programs listed
- none
- Amount expended
- Not stated
- Received to date
- $31,778.06
4 findings.
Every finding is verified to the documents in its own row. An inference is labelled as one.
Red with the marker: a certified figure the books contradict.
The FY2026 report is a one page short form (p1).
It certifies 0.00 received in the year and 31,778.06 received since the distribution began in 2022, at question 3, and answers question 4 that the Township transferred all of its funds to the county. The FY2024 and FY2025 short forms print the same 31,778.06 at question 3. That figure is the Township's first four receipts, 7,991.79 on 07/22/2022, 8,358.28 on 11/16/2022, 9,971.12 on 01/12/2023 and 5,456.87 on 06/21/2023. The Township's Opioid Settlement Grant account shows twelve more receipts from 07/05/2023 to 12/19/2024, 71,867.04 in all. Receipts through 12/20/2024 total 103,645.10. The Township sent the County of Morris the same 103,645.10, 43,173.07 on 02/26/2024, 43,908.58 on check 46209 of 05/13/2024 and 16,563.45 on check 48081 of 12/20/2024. The cumulative figure the Township certified in three reports leaves out 71,867.04 that its own books show it received and passed to the County.
misreported-receipts · 4 documents · 10/03/2026The FY2024 report is a one page short form (p1).
Question 1 asks what the Township received between 07/01/2023 and 06/30/2024. It certifies 0.00. The Township's Opioid Settlement Grant account shows eleven settlement receipts in that window. They are 1,676.98 on 07/05/2023, 7,745.11 on 08/08/2023, 1,972.92 on 11/30/2023, 4,458.86 on 05/06/2024, six receipts of 05/07/2024 totaling 43,908.58, and 8,651.80 on 06/25/2024, 68,414.25 in all. The same report certifies 31,778.06 received since 2022. Receipts on the books through 06/30/2024 are 100,192.31. Both certified figures leave out the 68,414.25. The Township sent 87,081.65 to the County of Morris in the window, and the account held 13,110.66 on 06/30/2024.
misreported-receipts · 2 documents · 10/03/2026The FY2024 report covers 07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024.
At question 4 it certifies "We are a municipality and transferred all of our funds to the county" (p1). The Township's Opioid Settlement Grant account shows otherwise. Check 46209 of 05/13/2024 sent the County of Morris 43,908.58, the six receipts of 05/07/2024. The receipt of 4,458.86 on 05/06/2024 stayed in the account. A receipt of 8,651.80 followed on 06/25/2024. The printed balance on 06/30/2024 was 13,110.66. No payment left the account until check 48081 of 12/20/2024 sent the County 16,563.45, the 13,110.66 plus a receipt of 3,452.79 on 12/19/2024. The same report certifies 31,778.06 received since 2022, while the Township had already sent the County 87,081.65 by 05/13/2024. The report cannot be right on both counts.
false-characterization · 2 documents · 10/04/2026The FY2025 report is a one page short form (p1).
Question 1 asks what the Township received between 07/01/2024 and 06/30/2025. It certifies 0.00. The Township's Opioid Settlement Grant account shows a settlement receipt of 3,452.79 on 12/19/2024, inside that window. The Township sent it to the County of Morris the next day, in check 48081 of 12/20/2024 for 16,563.45. The produced prints end 12/20/2024, so 3,452.79 is the least the Township received in the year. The report certifies 0.00.
misreported-receipts · 2 documents · 10/04/2026The ledger, as printed.
Account 01-192-10-772-001, as printed from the jurisdiction's own accounting system. Classification follows the Exhibit E gates.
| Date | Check | PO | Payee and description | Amount | Class |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 07/22/2022 | TOWNSHIP of DENVILLE (001109) · INV#OPIOID GRANT OPIOID SETTLEMENT SET UP AS GRANT PER STATE - FUNDS RECEIEVED 07/22/22 | 7,991.79 | Receipt | ||
| 11/16/2022 | TOWNSHIP of DENVILLE (001109) · INV#OPIOID GRANT OPIOID SETTLEMENT SET UP AS GRANT PER STATE - FUNDS RECEIEVED 11/16/22 | 8,358.28 | Receipt | ||
| 12/30/2022 | ADJUST GRANT REVENUE | 16,350.07 | Journal · Unverified | ||
| 12/30/2022 | ADJUST GRANT REVENUE | 16,350.07 | Journal · Unverified | ||
| 01/12/2023 | TOWNSHIP of DENVILLE (001109) · INV#OPIOID SETTLEMENT OPIOID SETTLEMENT FUNDS - PAYMENT #3 of 3 - CK #19450 | 9,971.12 | Receipt | ||
| 06/21/2023 | TOWNSHIP of DENVILLE (001109) · INV#OPIOID SETTLEMENT OPIOID SETTLEMENT FUNDS - PAYMENT #1 - CK #22636 | 5,456.87 | Receipt | ||
| 07/05/2023 | TOWNSHIP of DENVILLE (001109) · INV#OPIOID SETTLEMENT OPIOID SETTLEMENT FUNDS - PAYMENT #2 - CK #22668 | 1,676.98 | Receipt | ||
| 08/08/2023 | TOWNSHIP of DENVILLE (001109) · INV#OPIOID SETTLEMENT OPIOID SETTLEMENT FD TRUST FUNDS - PAYMENT #3 - CK #23898 | 7,745.11 | Receipt | ||
| 11/30/2023 | TOWNSHIP of DENVILLE (001109) · INV#OPIOID ABATEMENT NATIONAL OPIOID ABATEMENT TRUST II FUNDS - CK #25420 | 1,972.92 | Receipt | ||
| 12/31/2023 | ADJUST GRANT REVENUE | 26,823.00 | Journal · Unverified | ||
| 12/31/2023 | ADJUST GRANT REVENUE | 26,823.00 | Journal · Unverified | ||
| 02/26/2024 | 902262024 | COUNTY of MORRIS (004153) · INV#OPIOID SETTLEMENT PER R#24-26 - Transfer Opioid Settlement Funds to County | 43,173.07 | Transfer out · Transfer | |
| 05/06/2024 | TOWNSHIP of DENVILLE (001109) · INV#OPIOID SETTLEMENT OPIOID SETTLEMENT FUNDS - PAYMENT #1 - CK #28593 | 4,458.86 | Receipt | ||
| 05/07/2024 | TOWNSHIP of DENVILLE (001109) · INV#OPIOID SETTLEMENT OPIOID SETTLEMENT FD TRUST FUNDS - - CK #110457279 | 4,355.38 | Receipt | ||
| 05/07/2024 | TOWNSHIP of DENVILLE (001109) · INV#OPIOID SETTLEMENT OPIOID SETTLEMENT FD TRUST FUNDS - - CK #110458620 | 3,404.62 | Receipt | ||
| 05/07/2024 | TOWNSHIP of DENVILLE (001109) · INV#OPIOID SETTLEMENT OPIOID SETTLEMENT FD TRUST FUNDS - CK #110457280 | 2,600.37 | Receipt | ||
| 05/07/2024 | TOWNSHIP of DENVILLE (001109) · INV#OPIOID SETTLEMENT OPIOID SETTLEMENT FD TRUST FUNDS - CK #110457696 | 2,828.38 | Receipt | ||
| 05/07/2024 | TOWNSHIP of DENVILLE (001109) · INV#OPIOID SETTLEMENT OPIOID SETTLEMENT FD TRUST FUNDS - CK #110457458 | 3,160.84 | Receipt | ||
| 05/07/2024 | TOWNSHIP of DENVILLE (001109) · INV#OPIOID SETTLEMENT OPIOID SETTLEMENT FD TRUST FUNDS - CK #110458312 | 27,558.99 | Receipt | ||
| 05/08/2024 | 56376 | COUNTY of MORRIS (000504) · Opioid settlement | 43,908.58 | Journal · Unverified | |
| 05/13/2024 | 46209 | 56376 | COUNTY of MORRIS (000504) · INV#2024 Opioid settlement | 43,908.58 | Transfer out · Transfer |
| 06/25/2024 | TOWNSHIP of DENVILLE (001109) · INV#OPIOID SETTLEMENT OPIOID SETTLEMENT FUNDS - PAYMENT #2 - CK #29222 | 8,651.80 | Receipt | ||
| 12/19/2024 | TOWNSHIP of DENVILLE (001109) · INV#OPIOID SETTLEMENT OPIOID SETTLEMENT FUNDS - CK #32536 | 3,452.79 | Receipt | ||
| 12/19/2024 | 58316 | COUNTY of MORRIS (000504) · Opioid settlement | 16,563.45 | Journal · Unverified | |
| 12/20/2024 | 48081 | 58316 | COUNTY of MORRIS (000504) · INV#2024 Opioid settlement | 16,563.45 | Transfer out · Transfer |
| Total paid | 0.00 | ||||
| Conforming abatement spending | 0.00 |
Vendors, and what paid them before.
What fund carried each payee before the opioid account, and how large the opioid slice is against the whole relationship. Bars share one scale.
No payee is published for this jurisdiction yet.
All documents are public records produced by the jurisdiction. Titles are the documents' own.
No dated event is published for this jurisdiction yet.
No correction received from this jurisdiction. If a figure on this page is wrong, send the record that shows it. The response is published here word for word.
Correct the recordCan opioid settlement money be spent on police cars or license plate readers?
No. Exhibit E of the national settlement lists the approved uses: treatment, recovery, prevention, harm reduction and related supports. Vehicles and surveillance hardware are not among the uses it lists, and state law bars using the funds to replace money a town would otherwise have spent.The approved uses
What did Denville Township tell the State it spent the money on?
No certified program is published for this jurisdiction yet. When a report is captured, each program appears here beside the payments in the account.See the reports
How was this grade computed?
By code, from a published rubric: reporting integrity 50 percent, spending conformity 40 percent, transparency 10 percent, with hard caps for a certified program that has no payee in the books, for an uncertified transfer out, and for a records refusal.The rubric
Articles about this town
Denville Township
Denville Township sent every dollar of its opioid settlement money to the County of Morris, and three years running told the State it had received 31,778.06 when its own books show 103,645.10.