Morris Township
- 01FY2025 report says all funds sent. 107,031.22 still held107,031.22
- 02FY2024 report put 7,720.76 more on hand than it held7,720.76
What the reports say,
and what the books show.
Morris Township has received $150,256.16 in opioid settlement funds and spent $146,644.26 of it.
The money, four ways.
Four figures describe the same settlement money. Each one comes from a different document.
Certified against the books,
every report year.
Every year this jurisdiction has filed, and the year it has not. The match on each row is computed from the rows, not judged.
filed
- Programs listed
- none
- Amount expended
- $0.00
- Received to date
- $39,613.04
filed
- Programs listed
- none
- Amount expended
- $39,613.04
- Unspent on hand
- $102,145.98
- Received to date
- $134,038.26
filed
- Programs listed
- none
- Amount expended
- Not stated
- Received to date
- $146,644.26
filed
- Programs listed
- none
- Amount expended
- Not stated
- Received to date
- $150,256.16
2 findings.
Every finding is verified to the documents in its own row. An inference is labelled as one.
Red with the marker: a certified figure the books contradict.
The FY2025 report covers 07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025.
At question 4 it certifies "We are a municipality and transferred all of our funds to the county" (p1). The same page certifies 146,644.26 received since 2022. By 06/30/2025 the Township had sent out one payment, 39,613.04 on 01/29/2024. The Township's two settlement grant accounts opened 2025 at 21,471.22 in B-02-41-524-024 and 85,560.00 in B-02-41-524-025, and nothing left either account before 08/20/2025. Purchase order 25-02878 to the County of Morris was first encumbered on 08/04/2025. Check 21903 paid both balances, 107,031.22, on 08/20/2025, seven weeks after the reporting year closed. The report prints no filing date. On the last day of the year it covers, 107,031.22 of the 146,644.26 had not been transferred.
false-characterization · 2 documents · 10/04/2026The FY2024 report covers 07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024.
At question 9 it certifies 102,145.98 of unspent and uncommitted settlement funds on hand (p1). The same page certifies 134,038.26 received since 2022 and 39,613.04 expended, the 01/29/2024 payment under Reference 6802. Received less expended is 94,425.22. The figure on hand is 7,720.76 more. The books and the FY2025 report give the same 94,425.22. Check 21903 of 08/20/2025 paid the County of Morris 107,031.22, the full balance of both settlement grant accounts. The FY2025 report gives 12,606.00 received from 07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025, and 107,031.22 less 12,606.00 is 94,425.22. The report prints no filing date. Neither the report nor the books support 102,145.98 on hand.
unspent-misstated · 3 documents · 10/04/2026The ledger, as printed.
Account 4-01-55-600-141, as printed from the jurisdiction's own accounting system. Classification follows the Exhibit E gates.
| Date | Check | PO | Payee and description | Amount | Class |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 01/29/2024 | County of Morris · 2023 NATIONAL OPIOID SETTELMENT | 39,613.04 | Transfer out · Transfer | ||
| 08/20/2025 | 21903 | 25-02878 | County of Morris · 2024 NAT'L OPOID SETTLEMENT AP | 21,471.22 | Transfer out · Transfer |
| 08/20/2025 | 21903 | 25-02878 | County of Morris · 2025 NAT'L OPOID SETTLEMENT AP | 85,560.00 | Transfer out · Transfer |
| Total paid | 0.00 | ||||
| Conforming abatement spending | 0.00 |
Vendors, and what paid them before.
What fund carried each payee before the opioid account, and how large the opioid slice is against the whole relationship. Bars share one scale.
No payee is published for this jurisdiction yet.
All documents are public records produced by the jurisdiction. Titles are the documents' own.
No dated event is published for this jurisdiction yet.
No correction received from this jurisdiction. If a figure on this page is wrong, send the record that shows it. The response is published here word for word.
Correct the recordCan opioid settlement money be spent on police cars or license plate readers?
No. Exhibit E of the national settlement lists the approved uses: treatment, recovery, prevention, harm reduction and related supports. Vehicles and surveillance hardware are not among the uses it lists, and state law bars using the funds to replace money a town would otherwise have spent.The approved uses
What did Morris Township tell the State it spent the money on?
No certified program is published for this jurisdiction yet. When a report is captured, each program appears here beside the payments in the account.See the reports
How was this grade computed?
By code, from a published rubric: reporting integrity 50 percent, spending conformity 40 percent, transparency 10 percent, with hard caps for a certified program that has no payee in the books, for an uncertified transfer out, and for a records refusal.The rubric
Articles about this town
Morris Township
Morris Township sends its opioid settlement money to the County of Morris, and its FY2025 report said every dollar was gone when 107,031.22 was still in its accounts.