East Greenwich Township
- 01Certified zero spent while paying 12,030.50 in orders12,030.50
- 02Spent it on a police community engagement web subscription18,780.00
- 03FY2024 figures imply 12,030.50 more spent than the books12,030.50
- 04Left a 10,095.00 police web payment out of FY2026 spending10,095.00
What the reports say,
and what the books show.
East Greenwich Township has received $43,233.11 in opioid settlement funds and spent $37,194.55 of it. Its largest single year difference between the report and the books is $12,030.50.
The money, four ways.
Four figures describe the same settlement money. Each one comes from a different document.
Certified against the books,
every report year.
Every year this jurisdiction has filed, and the year it has not. The match on each row is computed from the rows, not judged.
filed
- Program name
- Project Medicine Drop and Deterra medication destruction pouches
- Recipient
- EGPD
- Programs listed
- 2
- Amount expended
- $2,097.64
- Received to date
- $8,918.39
filed
- Program name
- Nasal Naloxone/Tactical Medical Kits
- Recipient
- East Greenwich Police Department
- Recipient category
- County or Municipality (including Departments and Municipal Alliances),First Responders, Law Enforcement, and Emergency Services
- Programs listed
- 3
- Amount expended
- $16,831.16
- Unspent on hand
- $959.55
- Received to date
- $26,709.10
filed
- Programs listed
- none
- Amount expended
- $0.00
- Unspent on hand
- $17,293.73
- Received to date
- $36,170.01
filed
- Program name
- Kingsway Regional High School Summer Leadership Camp
- Recipient
- Kingsway Reg. HS Youth Summer Camp
- Recipient category
- Schools, Colleges, Universities
- Amount expended
- $1,350.00
- Unspent on hand
- $6,998.11
- Received to date
- $43,233.11
16 findings.
Every finding is verified to the documents in its own row. An inference is labelled as one.
Red with the marker: a certified figure the books contradict.
The FY2025 report certifies 0.00 opioid abatement funds expended between 07/01/2024 and 06/30/2025, and repeats the claim in narrative, saying funds were not spent in this reporting period.
Two purchase orders were released inside that window. Purchase order 24-00915 to Online Policing Solutions, Inc for 5,790.00 was released on 07/10/2024 under payment ID 41434. Purchase order 24-00922 to Joseph J. Giumarello trading as Off Grid Preparedness Supply for 6,240.50 was released on 08/14/2024 under payment ID 41523. Both line item screens read status Paid, Paid Total equal to the purchase order total and Remaining .00. The releases total 12,030.50.
zero-certification · 2 documents · 09/20/2026The largest single use of settlement money in East Greenwich is a police community engagement web service from Online Policing Solutions, Inc of Millville.
The township bought it on three successive purchase orders charged to the police miscellaneous line, 2,895.00 released 11/29/2023, 5,790.00 released 07/10/2024 for a two year term, and 10,095.00 released 11/13/2025 in two line items of 5,000.00 and 5,095.00. The three total 18,780.00, which is just over half of the 37,194.55 the production documents as paid. The township reported the program to the State under the heading of primary prevention, education and training. No record documents a prevention program delivered through the platform. A departmental web platform is a police communications cost and is not among the uses Exhibit E lists. The FY2026 report, published 10/01/2026, leaves the 10,095.00 renewal of 11/13/2025 out of its spending and names no program for the platform.
non-conforming-spending · 3 documents · 10/03/2026The FY2024 report states 26,709.10 received in total since 2022 at question 3 and 959.55 unspent and uncommitted on hand at question 9.
Those two figures imply cumulative spending of 25,749.55. The purchase orders the township produced show 13,719.05 released through 06/30/2024, being 2,097.64 in FY2023 and 11,621.41 in FY2024. The difference is 12,030.50, which is the exact total of the two purchase orders released in the following year, 5,790.00 on 07/10/2024 and 6,240.50 on 08/14/2024. Separately, 25,749.55 is the exact sum of the first ten purchase orders, 22-00895 through 24-00922. The certified expenditure at question 6, 16,831.16, is the FY2024 receipts of 17,790.71 less 959.55. The township receipts register shows how. It applies each arriving settlement payment to named purchase orders. The FY2024 receipts, less a 959.55 slice applied to purchase order 25-01556, went to the challenge coins 3,730.00, the web service 6,860.66 and the vehicle medical kits 6,240.50. Those are the three program amounts in the report, apart from a 0.70 difference on the coins. So the certified 16,831.16 is 4,800.66 released in FY2024 plus the 12,030.50 released in FY2025. Another 6,820.75 released in FY2024 was applied to FY2023 receipts and appears in no report. Across FY2023 to FY2025 the township certified 18,928.80 spent. Releases through 06/30/2025 were 25,749.55. Each release date is the payment identifier printed on the purchase order screen, because no cash disbursement register or cancelled check has been produced.
reporting-contradiction · 2 documents · 09/23/2026The FY2026 report certifies 1,350.00 spent between 07/01/2025 and 06/30/2026 (page 1).
It assigns the whole 1,350.00 to one program, the Kingsway Regional High School Summer Leadership Camp (pages 5 to 7). The Township runs all settlement money through the police Miscellaneous line, and the settlement purchase orders on that line paid 11,445.00 in the year. Purchase order 25-01556 to Online Policing Solutions, Inc, COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT WEB, was released on 11/13/2025 under payment ID 43160 in two line items of 5,000.00 and 5,095.00. Purchase order 26-00705, 2026 SUMMER LEADERSHIP CAMP from Partners in Prevention, was released on 06/10/2026 under payment ID 43951 for 1,350.00. The certified figure is the year's payments less exactly the 10,095.00 web payment. No program in the report describes the web platform. No earlier report counts the payment either. The FY2025 report certifies 0.00 spent. A report that certifies 1,350.00 spent cannot describe a year in which those purchase orders paid 11,445.00.
misreported-expenditure · 3 documents · 10/03/2026The township paid 7,094.05 from the police miscellaneous line for community relations goods.
A custom tent, backdrop and cloths for 1,455.00 and a canopy bundle for 999.00, both from Carpa Conexion, LLC of Chattanooga. Cups and keychains for 642.64, community relations items for 2,497.59 and community events giveaways for 1,499.82, all from Mary Bridget Enterprises, Inc of Cinnaminson. Every line is charged to the police Other Expenses control account under the sub account named POLICE: Miscellaneous. The FY2023 report gives the rationale in the township's own words. It spends solely on items that help officers engage the community, with pamphlets and giveaways at events. No record documents an evidence-based prevention program that these goods serve, and none of them is among the uses Exhibit E lists. Whether the police budget carried the same vendors before 2022 is not on this record. The all funds vendor history has been requested and not produced.
non-conforming-spending · 3 documents · 09/23/2026East Greenwich Township never opened a dedicated opioid settlement account.
The spreadsheet the township produced says so in its own header, that it is using the police miscellaneous line item to enter monies and utilize them. The purchase order line item screens confirm it on all twelve purchase orders, every one charged to Budget, Control Acct POLICE OE, Sub-Account POLICE: Miscellaneous, coded by budget year from 2-01-25-240-000-21A through 5-01-25-240-000-21A, and every one drawn on checking account 01CURRENT. The receipts side runs through the same appropriation. The five produced workbooks post each settlement distribution into accounts 2-01-25-240-000-21A through 6-01-25-240-000-21A as type Reimburse CK, which restores spending authority to the police line. The sub account balance printed on the four line item screens charged to the budget year 2024 account, 4-01-25-240-000-21A, reads negative 9,022.62. The produced records show no settlement balance anywhere.
fund-commingling · 3 documents · 09/23/2026The production documents twelve purchase orders and no others.
They carry fifteen line items and total 37,194.55, every one released on checking account 01CURRENT and charged to the police Other Expenses control account. By vendor, Online Policing Solutions, Inc took 18,780.00, Joseph J. Giumarello trading as Off Grid Preparedness Supply 6,240.50, Mary Bridget Enterprises, Inc 4,640.05, Carpa Conexion, LLC 2,454.00, USDOD Productions, LLC 2,240.00, Gene Azevedo trading as CombatBet 1,490.00, and Partners in Prevention 1,350.00. By state fiscal year the releases run 2,097.64 in FY2023, 11,621.41 in FY2024, 12,030.50 in FY2025 and 11,445.00 in FY2026. No line went to a treatment or recovery provider. The one line paid to a prevention organisation is 26-00705, a 1,350.00 summer leadership camp from Partners in Prevention released 06/10/2026. The township has produced no cash disbursement register and no cancelled checks, so each release date is taken from the payment identifier printed on its own line item screen.
spending-inventory · 1 document · 09/23/2026The FY2023 report certifies 2,097.64 expended as of 06/30/2023.
Two purchase order line items were released before that date and no others. Purchase order 22-00895 for 1,455.00 was released on 09/14/2022 under payment ID 38909 and purchase order 22-01074 for 642.64 was released on 11/23/2022 under payment ID 39166. They sum to 2,097.64. The FY2023 certification matches the township own purchase orders to the cent. It is the year that shows the township reporting its spending accurately.
reporting-accuracy · 2 documents · 09/20/2026The FY2025 report states 10,420.46 received between 07/01/2024 and 06/30/2025 and 36,170.01 received in total since 2022.
The FY2024 report states 26,709.10 received in total since 2022. Adding the year to the prior cumulative gives 37,129.56. The FY2025 cumulative is 959.55 below that. The report understates its own cumulative receipts against its own prior filing by 959.55.
reporting-contradiction · 2 documents · 09/20/2026The FY2025 report states 17,293.73 as unspent and uncommitted opioid abatement funds on hand at question 9.
The year closed on 06/30/2025. At that date receipts were 37,129.56 and releases were 25,749.55, which leaves 11,380.01. The certified figure is the balance on a later date. The township receipts register totals 43,043.28 through 08/18/2025. Take away the 25,749.55 released and 17,293.73 is left, to the cent. The four receipts between 08/11/2025 and 08/18/2025 total 5,913.72, and all of them fall in FY2026. The balance stays at 17,293.73 until the next receipt on 11/07/2025. The FY2025 report gives no date for the figure. Which day in that window the township used is not on this record.
unspent-misstated · 2 documents · 09/22/2026The FY2026 report certifies 6,998.11 of unspent and uncommitted funds on hand (page 2).
That is the book balance at 06/30/2026 to the cent. The Township's receipts register shows 44,192.66 received through 06/22/2026. Its settlement purchase orders show 37,194.55 released through 06/30/2026, including the 10,095.00 web service released on 11/13/2025. 44,192.66 less 37,194.55 is 6,998.11. The report's own figures give a different balance. Question 3 certifies 43,233.11 received since 2022. The four reports certify 20,278.80 spent, 2,097.64 for FY2023, 16,831.16 for FY2024, 0.00 for FY2025 and 1,350.00 for FY2026. That leaves 22,954.31. The 15,956.20 gap is the 10,095.00 web payment plus 6,820.75 of 2023 and 2024 purchases that no report counts, less 959.55 of receipts missing from question 3. The balance on page 2 counts the web payment as spent. The spending figure on page 1 leaves it out.
self-contradiction · 5 documents · 10/03/2026The FY2024 report certifies 16,831.16 expended in the period and 959.55 unspent and uncommitted on hand, and the register shows check 29211 of 06/21/2024 carrying 959.55 against purchase order 25-01556.
This finding read that entry as a payment made nine days before the period closed. The documents do not support that reading.
Withdrawn. Withdrawn on 2026-09-20. The finding read check 29211 of 06/21/2024 as a 959.55 payment on purchase order 25-01556. It is not a payment. The 2024 workbook posts 29211 as a 2,306.38 settlement receipt from BrownGreer on 06/24/24, type Reimburse CK, reference R 5209 2. Purchase order 25-01556 did not exist on that date. It was ordered and first encumbered on 10/29/2025. Nothing left the account. The arithmetic point about question 9 is carried forward in fy2024-figures-do-not-match-the-purchase-orders.
unspent-misstated · 3 documents · 09/20/2026This finding held that reported receipts of 8,918.39, 17,790.71 and 10,420.46 equalled the amounts paid out of the police miscellaneous line in the same three windows.
Those figures are the amounts that arrived, not the amounts paid.
Withdrawn. Withdrawn on 2026-09-20. The finding read the register as a record of payments and concluded that reported receipts tracked spending to the cent. The register is a receipts register. The figures the township reported as received are its receipts, and they are correct in all three filed years. There is no contradiction here.
reporting-contradiction · 4 documents · 09/20/2026This finding held that seven payments totalling 7,938.02 sat in the register with no purchase order, voucher, invoice, vendor or description.
Those rows are incoming settlement distributions.
Withdrawn. Withdrawn on 2026-09-20. The six register rows the finding named are settlement receipts, not payments. The 2025 and 2026 workbooks name a payor for each of them, Allergan, BrownGreer, Teva, CVS, Walmart and Walgreens. Nothing left the account. What the record actually shows is receipts the township has taken in and not yet allocated to any purchase order.
undocumented-spending · 3 documents · 09/20/2026This finding held that payments attributed to purchase order 26-00705 preceded the purchase order by almost a year and that the audit trail did not close.
The entries in question are allocations of receipts, not payments. The purchase order itself reads 2026 SUMMER LEADERSHIP CAMP and names Partners in Prevention of Secaucus, released 06/10/2026 for 1,350.00.
Withdrawn. Withdrawn on 2026-09-20. There is no break. The 1,285.01 of 06/16/2025 and the 64.99 of 08/11/2025 are slices of money arriving, which the township later applied to purchase order 26-00705. Receipts preceding a purchase are ordinary. Every one of the twelve purchase orders carries register slices dated before its own order date.
audit-trail-break · 1 document · 09/20/2026This finding held that purchase order 24-00922, 6,240.50 to Joseph J.
Giumarello trading as Off Grid Preparedness Supply, released 08/14/2024, bought nasal naloxone and vehicle mounted medical kits and was the one conforming purchase in the record. The purchase order names vehicle medical kits only.
Withdrawn. Withdrawn on 2026-09-20. The purchase order description reads VEHICLE MEDICAL KITS and nothing more. Naloxone appears only in the township own words, the FY2024 report narrative and program title and the Narcan notes on its receipts register. No invoice, packing list or contract in the production shows what the kits contain, so the record does not support calling the purchase conforming. It is classified unverified until the supporting documents are produced.
conforming-spending · 2 documents · 09/23/2026Patterns this jurisdiction appears in: Zero certification
The ledger, as printed.
Account 2-01-25-240-000-21A, as printed from the jurisdiction's own accounting system. Classification follows the Exhibit E gates.
| Date | Check | PO | Payee and description | Amount | Class |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 07/18/2022 | 16298 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opiod Settlement | 2,130.44 | Receipt | |
| 09/14/2022 | 38909 | 22-00895 | CARPA CONEXION, LLC · CUSTOM TENT/BACKDROP/CLOTHS | 1,455.00 | Paid · Non-conforming |
| 11/04/2022 | 17758 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opiod Settlement | 2,228.14 | Receipt | |
| 11/23/2022 | 39166 | 22-01074 | MARY BRIDGET ENTERPRISES, INC. · CUPS/KEYCHAINS-POLICE | 642.64 | Paid · Non-conforming |
| 12/29/2022 | 19463 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opiod Settlement | 2,658.08 | Receipt | |
| 01/30/2023 | 20459 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Budget Reimbur:Opiod Reim | 447.05 | Receipt | |
| 06/16/2023 | 22649 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opioid Settlement | 1,454.68 | Receipt | |
| 08/01/2023 | 23887 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opiod Settlement | 2,064.68 | Receipt | |
| 10/11/2023 | 40374 | 23-01248 | MARY BRIDGET ENTERPRISES, INC. · COMMUNITY RELATIONS ITEMS | 2,260.94 | Paid · Non-conforming |
| 10/11/2023 | 40374 | 23-01248 | MARY BRIDGET ENTERPRISES, INC. · COMMUNITY RELATIONS ITEMS | 236.65 | Paid · Non-conforming |
| 11/10/2023 | 25421 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opiod Trust | 525.94 | Receipt | |
| 11/29/2023 | 40458 | 23-01326 | CARPA CONEXION, LLC · CANOPY BUNDLE--OEM COMMUNITY | 999.00 | Paid · Non-conforming |
| 11/29/2023 | 40548 | 23-01473 | ONLINE POLICING SOLUTIONS, INC · COMMUNITY POLICING SOLUTIONS | 2,895.00 | Paid · Non-conforming |
| 02/14/2024 | 40872 | 23-01456 | MARY BRIDGET ENTERPRISES, INC. · COMMUNITY EVENTS GIVEAWAYS | 1,499.82 | Paid · Non-conforming |
| 04/30/2024 | 110457482 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opioid-Allergan | 842.61 | Receipt | |
| 04/30/2024 | 110457742 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opioid-Walgreens | 1,161.05 | Receipt | |
| 04/30/2024 | 110457743 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opioid-Walgreens | 693.20 | Receipt | |
| 04/30/2024 | 110457803 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opioid-Teva | 753.99 | Receipt | |
| 04/30/2024 | 110458336 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opioid-Walmart | 7,346.63 | Receipt | |
| 04/30/2024 | 110458643 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opioid-CVS | 907.60 | Receipt | |
| 04/30/2024 | 28618 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opioid-Browngreer PLC | 1,188.63 | Receipt | |
| 06/12/2024 | 41276 | 24-00689 | GENE AZEVEDO, COMBATBET · CHALLENGE COINS-TREATMENT PROG | 1,490.00 | Paid · Unverified |
| 06/12/2024 | 41361 | 24-00716 | USDOD PRODUCTIONS, LLC · CHALLENGE COINS | 2,210.04 | Paid · Unverified |
| 06/12/2024 | 41361 | 24-00716 | USDOD PRODUCTIONS, LLC · CHALLENGE COINS | 29.96 | Paid · Unverified |
| 06/21/2024 | 29211 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opioid Settlement Browngreer | 2,306.38 | Receipt | |
| 07/10/2024 | 41434 | 24-00915 | ONLINE POLICING SOLUTIONS, INC · 2 YRS-COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT SER | 5,790.00 | Paid · Non-conforming |
| 08/05/2024 | 30251 | MISC · Settlement receipt from opiod payment dist payment 4 | 2,796.04 | Receipt | |
| 08/09/2024 | 110525538 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opioids-Allergan | 843.20 | Receipt | |
| 08/09/2024 | 110525646 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opioids-CVS | 716.49 | Receipt | |
| 08/09/2024 | 110529419 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opioids-TEVA | 825.28 | Receipt | |
| 08/14/2024 | 41523 | 24-00922 | JOSEPH J. GIUMARELLO, OFF GRID PREPAREDNESS SUPPLY · VEHICLE MEDICAL KITS | 6,240.50 | Paid · Unverified |
| 09/16/2024 | 2005 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opioid Settlement-McKinsey | 1,062.52 | Receipt | |
| 10/15/2024 | 32538 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opioid Reimburs Endo | 920.44 | Receipt | |
| 04/22/2025 | 110703277 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opioid Settlement-Walgreens | 693.87 | Receipt | |
| 06/16/2025 | 34654 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Janssen Opioid Settlement | 2,562.62 | Receipt | |
| 08/11/2025 | 110797041 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opioid Settlement Allergen | 836.26 | Receipt | |
| 08/15/2025 | 35261 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opioid Settlement BrownGreer | 2,796.04 | Receipt | |
| 08/18/2025 | 110803771 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opioid Settlement CVS | 1,478.28 | Receipt | |
| 08/18/2025 | 110806503 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opioid Settlement Teva | 803.14 | Receipt | |
| 11/07/2025 | 110862873 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opioid Settlement Walmart | 58.77 | Receipt | |
| 11/13/2025 | 43160 | 25-01556 | ONLINE POLICING SOLUTIONS, INC · COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT WEB | 5,095.00 | Paid · Non-conforming |
| 11/13/2025 | 43160 | 25-01556 | ONLINE POLICING SOLUTIONS, INC · COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT WEB | 5,000.00 | Paid · Non-conforming |
| 04/30/2026 | 110969167 | MISC · Settlement receipt from Opiod Settlement Walgreens | 680.52 | Receipt | |
| 06/10/2026 | 43951 | 26-00705 | PARTNERS IN PREVENTION · 2026 SUMMER LEADERSHIP CAMP | 1,350.00 | Paid · Unverified |
| 06/22/2026 | 39281 | Settlement receipt, payor not stated on the register | 410.09 | Receipt | |
| 07/28/2026 | 111017446 | Settlement receipt, payor not stated on the register | 810.97 | Receipt | |
| 07/28/2026 | 42271 | Settlement receipt, payor not stated on the register | 2,796.04 | Receipt | |
| 08/03/2026 | 111021159 | Settlement receipt, payor not stated on the register | 1,478.28 | Receipt | |
| 08/03/2026 | 111022984 | Settlement receipt, payor not stated on the register | 836.26 | Receipt | |
| Total paid | 37,194.55 | ||||
| Conforming abatement spending | 0.00 |
Vendors, and what paid them before.
What fund carried each payee before the opioid account, and how large the opioid slice is against the whole relationship. Bars share one scale.
Full width is $18,780.00, the largest payee total. Solid is the opioid account. Hatched is every other fund.
All documents are public records produced by the jurisdiction. Titles are the documents' own.
No dated event is published for this jurisdiction yet.
No correction received from this jurisdiction. If a figure on this page is wrong, send the record that shows it. The response is published here word for word.
Correct the recordCan opioid settlement money be spent on police cars or license plate readers?
No. Exhibit E of the national settlement lists the approved uses: treatment, recovery, prevention, harm reduction and related supports. Vehicles and surveillance hardware are not among the uses it lists, and state law bars using the funds to replace money a town would otherwise have spent.The approved uses
What did East Greenwich Township tell the State it spent the money on?
It certified 6 programs to the Department of Human Services. Each program, its recipient and its amount are reproduced above, beside the payments in the account.See the reports
How was this grade computed?
By code, from a published rubric: reporting integrity 50 percent, spending conformity 40 percent, transparency 10 percent, with hard caps for a certified program that has no payee in the books, for an uncertified transfer out, and for a records refusal.The rubric
Articles about this town
East Greenwich Township
East Greenwich Township runs its opioid settlement money through the police miscellaneous line, spent half of it on a police community engagement website, and left the website's 10,095.00 renewal out of the spending it certified for FY2026.